Simple and Delicious Red Cabbage Soup

Image

farm box august 21 2013

What an amazing farm box! We had huge heads of red cabbage, delicious tomatoes, squash, wonderful dill, and more. This is my first time trying red cabbage soup. I’ve thought of red cabbage as something you add a little bit of in a salad, or mixed with green cabbage. Then we ended up getting huge heads of cabbage for our farm boxes! It was quite excellent. So I tried a blended cabbage soup that I’ve made with green cabbage, and it worked out really well. Even better then green cabbage because it was a little bit of a new flavor then I’m used to.

Ingredients: Onions, Spices, Summer Squash, Red Cabbage, Tomatoes, dill

Chop a medium sized onion, and medium sized tomato. I chopped more tomato then I actually used in this picture.

Image

Heat some olive oil or coconut oil in the soup pot, and add the onions. I used some delicious avocado, lemon oil.

I added a little red onion too.

Image

Add in a generous amount of different spices of your choice. I don’t use chicken or vegetable stock. I flavor soup by stir frying onions with seasonings, it tastes great. I used, cumin, paprika, salt, pepper, tumeric, dried dill, and chili powder.

I also chopped thin slices of red cabbage, and laid them out on a baking dish, with olive oil, and baked them at 350 degrees, until they were crispy.

Image

Once the onions are translucent and smell tasty, add water to the pot. I think I added 4 cups, about 3/4 of the pot, maybe less. It’s ok to add more later if needed.

Add at least a pound of sliced summer squash. Once the squash has cooked a little, add chopped tomatoes. Let it cook a little longer, and then add the chopped cabbage. I used half a head of a huge cabbage. Boil a few minutes, and then reduce the heat and simmer until the veggies are cooked. Taste the stock and see if you want to add more flavor.  Butter or coconut oil is a good way to add a little more flavor and creaminess. Then blend the soup.

I had added dried dill to the onions because I’m saving the fresh dill from my box to make pickles. I topped the soup with the cabbage chips, and used just a little bit of the fresh dill on top. The cabbage chips was a really awesome touch.

I made enough soup for about 6 bowls! Now to figure out what to do with the other half of this huge, delicious red cabbage!

red cabbage 5

Leave a Reply

