Preparing Sauces and Picking Wild Mustard Flowers

When I bring my farm box home, I start with preparing a few things in advance, and storing the veggies in a way that will make everything easy and convenient to use all week.

Sometimes, I start with making a salad dressing.

FullSizeRender (10)

This time I blended, lemon juice, mustard, hemp oil, olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic dill sauce.

Lately, I’ve been making a Lebanese garlic sauce about every three weeks that I can add to sauces, dressings, and into the pan for veggie stir fry’s. It makes dishes more flavorful, and often I’ll use it in place of garlic, it’s just easier, and slightly less messy when I’m in a rush to make dinner.

The garlic sauce takes about 10 minutes to make, and requires some attention so that the oil goes into the food processor in a slow and steady stream, so it will emulsify.

Lebanese garlic sauce making      lebanese garlic sauce

After I made the salad dressing, using some garlic sauce, I began a new experiment. I picked a little bit of wild mustard flowers, and after several ideas bounced around my head on what I wanted to do with it, I decided to make a loaf of bread with mustard flowers and orange blossom honey. It turned out really tasty.

Breakfast was carrots dipped in the dressing, and mustard flower bread.

FullSizeRender (12)

Later, I made fresh and flavorful, arugula pesto, and added the wild mustard flowers to it.

Pesto arugula with mustard flowers

The rest of the veggies from the box, are in glass containers, in the fridge. The greens are already chopped. Some greens are in glass bottles with water to keep them crispy and lasting longer.

With the carrots I didn’t finish, I baked them and made a carrot butter sauce with juice from a cara cara orange, and orange zest. This can be stored, reheated, and used for a ravioli sauce, or on top of fish.

 

FullSizeRender (13)

Since healthy food is really important to me, but I don’t want it to take up all my time, preparing a little in advance makes it easier to maintain my kitchen through all the cooking experiments.

 

Leave a Reply

