Small Farmers are Stars, Debby & Shu

I met Debby a few years ago, when she was new to the LA market scene. Ever since then, “The Garden Of” has been my first choice for lettuce in our farm boxes. They’ve been harvesting their own heirloom seeds for over 30 years. They take extra effort in the health of their soil, beyond organic standards. When you taste their beautiful vegetables, you can tell they are growing from their hearts.

DebnChu2

A few weeks ago, I was heading out to pickup produce from two farmers by myself. I began heading in the direction of Hollywood, when Debby called.

“Kali! Our truck has a flat tire and we’re stuck in Thousand Oaks! We could be here until tomorrow, we have no idea. You should come get your order here at the truck.”

A part of me thought, ” I should give them a little time and pick up from JR Organics at their Mar Vista Booth first.” Instead, I went on my way to Thousand Oaks to meet up with Debby.

I was just a mile away when Debby called again.

“Kali, how close are you? We got the tire, and we need to make a mad dash to the Hollywood Farmers Market, and your whole order is at the front of the truck, it would take us an hour to get everything out, to get to your order!”

I was happy they were going to make it to the Hollywood Market, and all the food they harvested was going to be sold. phew! Also, I was holding back that part of me that was a little concerned, that our boxes would be delivered later, and going through all the logistics in my head, getting in touch with our crew, and thinking about what to tell our customers.

“That’s ok, I should’ve listened to my intuition and gone to Mar Vista first.” I told her I loved them, and it’s all part of the comedy of life. Then turned around, and headed on my way to Mar Vista before Hollywood.

Once I got to them at the Hollywood Farmers Market, I was 5 minutes ahead of them, and an hour behind schedule. All vendors were already set up, and selling for the past hour. Shu opened the back of the truck and I came to help them unload along with several other people at the farmers market. More people started stepping in. Everyone was excited and happy to help out, and immediately customers were grabbing at their vegetables, as if they had been eagerly awaiting Debby and Shu’s arrival. Debby was busy selling, Shu handed us crates. People were adorably inspired, taking video of us, and saying things like, “It takes a community!”.

I was secretly hoping people would be impressed by my ability to carry 50 lb crates of potatoes by myself. That didn’t seem to happen, but a girl, stopped me to say how much she loved my pants.

I wanted to take a picture of this beautiful communal scene of people coming together for a very special small farm, but I had to make a mad dash to get our boxes made, once I had finished helping Debby and Shu get set up.

Today, In Topanga, a friend asked me if I ever pick up at the Hollywood Farmers Market. I said, “Yes, why?”

“I think I saw a picture of you”. He then showed me a picture on instagram. My back was turned, and I was far away.

“How did you know that was me!?”

“Because of your pants!”

hfm the garden of

So now that I have the picture, (thanks to the pink pants) I get to show and tell about that beautiful morning when so many people pulled together for Debby and Shu, who deserve loads of praises for everything they do.

Leave a Reply

