Butternut Squash Desserts

We’re really happy to have winter squashes right now. You don’t have to eat them right away, and there are so many things you can do with them.

It might sound weird, but I made my Husband a butternut squash Birthday Cake. There isn’t too much difference in flavor with winter squashes so any one of them can be used. The butternut squash is just there to make the cake a little moister and healthier. It ended up tasting like a pound cake. Which is awesome!

I chopped up fuyu persimmons, and stir fried them on low heat with maple syrup, coconut oil and cinnamon.

I let that cool down and mixed it with homemade whip cream, and spread that in between each layer of the cake.

I used this recipe, but made my own frosting and came up with the persimmon layers. I boiled the butternut squash, and used that instead of canned pumpkin. This kind of recipe can be done using gluten free flour and a dairy free milk. You can do it with coconut oil instead of butter too.

 

After that, I looked up pumpkin mochi and used butternut squash.

I used this recipe, Chinese Pumpkin Cake.

You can use honey or maple syrup instead of sugar. I used homemade chocolate for the center instead of red bean paste. I made these for my family at Thanksgiving and they absolutely loved it.

 

Leave a Reply

